The building of Bassets Acre was commissioned by Lord De Dunstanville Basset in around 1827, it is one of Portreaths finest houses and is steeped in local history.
The house has many interesting architectural features, distinctive granite fans and quoins surround the large Georgian windows, three foot thick walls constructed in local stone, elegant high ceilings, a beautiful winding staircase and two large porthole windows added by Captain Henry are just some of the outstanding features of this grand house.
It has been our privilege to be resident owners since 1978. We have turned the once sadly neglected building into the fine house we have today, comprising six high quality apartments with all modern conveniences but still keeping the unique character of the original house.
Our Games Room has Pool and Football tables, games machines, library and a DVD colllection, etc.
One acre of subtropical gardens After a long period of neglect it has taken a lot of hard work to re-discover this very special place of tranquility and beauty, within its ancient pines hides a folly at the top of a high staircase with terraces leading down to the lawns and stream, there is a barbecue area next to the lower pond and the upper pond is where the monkey house used to be in Victorian times.
The spacious deck with loungers and dining facilities has stunning views of the sea and valley.
To the front of the house is the Swimming pool, a large Summer house, Loungers, a Gazebo, Barbecues, Dining facilities, Table tennis and a children’s adventure play area.